I still try

I drown in the deep end of your eyes

as my hands grow cold from holding on,

I swing from a rope of a dream in the sky

knowing it could snap at any second,

realizing it might just be in my mind.

I still try.

I hold on for what its worth.

For the way feel alive when I’m near you,

for the way I know I can make you feel that too,

for the things I learned, thanks to what you do.

Suddenly I am left alone, and,

as my hands grow cold from holding on,

I believe in the calm after the storm,

I believe in a prize I haven’t yet won.

I still try.

For you taught me to love through the pain

to fly alone, to risk, and gain,

now I know that we all have to pay

the cost of consequence one day.

My head’s in the clouds

I can’t see my feet, yet they touch the ground.

I walk blindfolded but I see clearly,

nothing can fade the truth I have found.

Now with or without you I walk fearlessly.

Daylin Horruitiner

Responder

