A mi amigo/ To my friend

A mi amigo que me pidió que le explicara el significado de una de mis poesías:

Mi queridísimo,

Simplemente no puedo, y te voy a dar dos razones:

  1. Cuando escribo una poesía el significado ya no me pertenece, y seria egoísta imponértelo. No voy a arruinarte la magia de darle tu propia interpretación, ya que cuando me leo yo misma noto que pueden tomar muchas rutas totalmente diferentes a las de la intención o fuente de inspiración original.
  2. Al leer muchas de mis poesías viejas pocas veces, te juro, me acuerdo exactamente qué fue lo que la inspiró. Son contadas las que me marcan o me identifican de verdad como persona, como escritora, como mujer, como tantas cosas, y en cuanto a esas pienso dejarte con la duda porque sería como desnudarme ante ti y no se me hace que debamos cruzar esa línea, además te confieso me da algo de vergüenza.

En resumidas cuentas, la poesía sea de quien sea es interpretada y asimilada por el lector, sea cual sea tu interpretación, es tuya, y es la que cuenta. Déjale la intención al escritor que todos tenemos derecho de guardar algún secreto.

Cariños,

Day

To my friend who asked me to explain the meaning of one of my poems:

My dearest,

I simply can’t, and here are two reasons why:

  1. Once I write the poem, the interpretation of it no longer belongs to me and I believe it would be selfish of me to impose. I will not ruin the magic of giving it your own meaning. I sometimes read my work and notice it can take many routes completely different from the original intention or source of inspiration.
  2. When I read a lot of my old poems, I swear, seldom do I recall what it was that inspired it. I can count the poems that really mark or identify me as a person, as a writer, as a woman, as so many things, and when it comes to those I will not tell. It would be like getting naked before you and I don’t believe we should cross that line, besides I must confess it embarrasses me a little.

In summary, the interpretation of poetry belongs to the reader. Whatever meaning you want to give it, it is yours, and it is the only one that counts. Let the intention remain with the writer, everyone is entitled to their secrets.

Love,

Day

Responder

